Pre-season preparations

Indoor nets

There are two more weeks of indoor nets, finishing on Sunday 17th April. The Thursday evening netsalso continue for another two sessions until Thursday 14th April.

Outdoor nets

As with our indoor nets the size of our Club means that we have to split the outdoor net sessions. This is to ensure manageable numbers and quality of practice, in particular as the amount of light in the early season is limited – two sessions of 20 people will provide better practice than one session of 40 people.

The nets at our home ground are at present not fit for use but we are hoping they will be in a few weeks. Therefore training for all, until further notice, will take place at our ‘second home’ which is the Dulwich Sports Ground in Turney Road, Dulwich, SE21 7JH. Training will take place on Tuesday and Thursday evenings beginning at 6.30pm, beginning on the 19th and 21st April.

As a rule of thumb those players who attended Thursday evening indoor nets, played consistently in the 1s/2s/3s last year or were allocated to Net 1 on a Sunday should aim for Tuesday evening; all others should look to Thursday evening. If you are unsure which evening to attend then please contact Graeme Hough.

A few points to note: this is a split to manage numbers – hopefully once the nets at our main Burbage Road ground are fit for use then all players will train on a Tuesday evening (although still split) allocation to a Tuesday or Thursday practice does not pre-empt selection decisions if you cannot make your session then please attend the other one if you can; we would prefer people to get some practice rather than none at all it is appreciated that work and other commitments are such that, for many, a 6.30pm start might be a struggle – however, we would prefer people to turn up when they can rather than not at all.

Pre-season matches

The league season for the Surrey Championship 1st, 2nd, 3rd and 4th teams begins on Saturday, 7th May. For the 5th and 6th teams the first league game is on Saturday 30th April. But before that there are a series of friendly matches planned. The pre-season looks as follows:

Friday/Saturday/Sunday 15th/16th/17th April – 1st/2nd team mini tour to Norfolk
Sunday 17th April – Development Team game
Saturday 23rd April – 3 senior team games
Sunday 24th April – Development Team game
Saturday 30th April – 5 senior team games (including 5th and 6th team league matches)
Sunday 1st May – Development Team game

How to make yourself available

In order to make yourself available for any of the above matches please contact John Lawrence (Team Secretary – 020 8761 2091) or text Graeme Hough (07910 146439). Teams will be selected on the Tuesday evening before the weekends and get posted on our website usually by lunchtime on the Wednesday. Therefore availability needs to be communicated well in advance of the Tuesday evening before the weekend’s matches.

A productive pre-season social!

Many thanks to all who came and enjoyed our pre-season on Saturday. As part of Cricket Force Day we spent time painting, pruning and preparing the club for the summer ahead. A large number of juniors in attendance enjoyed some coaching and there was food, drink and a raffle laid on. We were pleased to raise £274 towards the cost of our new nets. You can see a gallery of images from the day here. Many thanks to Mat Dixon, Graeme Hough and Prasanna Callaghan for their contributions to getting the day organised.

2016 subs now due

Playing and social subscriptions for the forthcoming season are now due. Click here for more details and to make your payment. Payment must be made by 1st May.

Discounted kit

A reminder that Beckenham Cricket Specialists (owned by club member Peter Rice) offer 20% discount off the retail price across the entire cricket range, to all club members & families.

New 2016 cricket ranges now in stock – at prices that compete with all the major online cricket specialists.

Now open Sundays – 10.30am to 1.30pm!

Bank Holiday opening hours: Saturday 9am – 5.30pm; Sunday & Monday 10.30am – 1.30pm

Beckenham Cricket Specialist
181A High Street
Beckenham Kent
020 8663 3582

New Surrey Championship sponsor

We'd like to welcome Travelbag, the new sponsors of the Surrey Championship. Go to to get unbeatable prices on your next holiday – and once you’ve booked, just email with your booking reference which Travelbag will use to pay a commission back into supporting the Surrey Championship.

Naomi Dattani joins to head up girls section

We are delighted to announce that Naomi Dattani will be heading up our girls cricket section this coming season. Naomi joins to coach and mentor our young female participants. At 22, she is a Level 2 coach and is currently in Australia playing club cricket and coaching. She is also a member of the Middlesex Ladies squad.

We believe that this is a really important step in elevating the standard and participation in girls cricket at Dulwich CC.

Naomi said: "I've been given so many opportunities through cricket and I am very excited to be able to share my experiences with the girls at Dulwich. I want them to be more aware of what the future holds for womens cricket, it’s growing every day! I can’t wait to get started!"

We look forward to welcome Naomi back from her travels and getting the new season under way!

Sports Club introduces new bar cards

Dulwich Sports Club Council are in the process of upgrading the bar and bar facilities.

We have installed a new till, and from the 1st February it will accept the new "bar card" which members can use instead of cash to pay at the bar.

Bar cards for all members senior and junior can be obtained from the bar towards the end of January free of charge, replacement cards will be £3.00.

Members can charge/load their bar card at the bar with cash or credit/debit card then use it to pay when making a purchase at the bar.

A simple swipe and you have paid – you will receive a receipt which tells you how much you have spent and how much you have left on the card.

Non members, corporate bookings and cash/credit card buyers will pay a surcharge.

We hope this will be a welcome addition for all our members,if you have any questions, please ask bar staff or bar committee members – Peter Jackson, Allen Blackford and Gregory Wallyn.

Dulwich Cricket Appointments 2016

At the AGM on the 12th Nov the following captaincy and management roles were agreed for 2016

1st XI Captain – Alex Gledhill (v/c Ed Stolle)
2nd XI Captain – James Bridgland (v/c Oliver Steward)
3rd XI Captain – Graeme Hough (v/c Andy Bailey)
4th XI Captain – Matt Dixon (v/c Simon Bailey)
5th XI Captain – Simon Peters (v/c tbc)
6th XI Captain – John Smith (v/c tbc)

Ladies Captains – Lyndsay Morton and Kira Chathli

Academy Manager – Graeme Hough
Development Team Captain – John Lawrence (v/c Tony Ebert)

Thanks to those captains who are standing down Michael Currey, Gareth Cornick, Tim Brown, Matt Craig and Euan Johnson for their hard work over the previous seasons.